AllMyRecipes FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

Using the app

Q: I found an amazing recipe in my web browser that I want to keep, how do I store a link to this web page? A: Use the “Share” function in the browser that is often found in the top right corner of the Internet browser from the “. . . ” menu, the symbol, or the like. Select the AllMyRecipes app from the list. Then you select an Image from the list that appears. From the “Add new recipe” screen you select a category to store the recipe link in.

 

Q: How do I add a new recipe? A: This can be done in many ways. One is mentioned abowe, i.e. using the devices standard web browser. The app alsp have an integrated web browser where you can do (allmost) the same as with the system broweser.

 

Q: How do I add a new recipe category? A: This can be done from the app’s main window (+ button) or from the “collect/share as” screen. You give the category a name and select an appropriate icon.

 

Q: How do I add a new photo recipe? A: This can either be done from the main screen or from the recipes screen, i.e. from an opened category. Note that it is possible to store one or two photos of a recipe. The idea is that you take one photo of the “how-to” part and one photo of the ingredients list.

 

Q: How do I add a new text recipe? A: This can either be done from the main screen or from the recipes screen, i.e. from an opened category. Note that it is also possible to mark text on a web page and select “Share” to share this text with the app.

 

Q: Is it possible to share text from a document or web page with the app? A: Yes, mark the text and select “Share” (the symbol).

 

Q: Is it possible to share recipes & categories with other app users? A: Yes, you and your friends can share, and keep in sync, one or several categories.

 

Q: Is it possible to share recipes with other apps? A: Yes, use the the symbol from within the Recipe View screen.

 

Q: Is it possible to export data from the app (and import it into the app on another device, or into a spreadsheet or the like)? A: Yes, you can export recipe data to .csv (comma separated values) format.

 

Q: Is it possible to import data from other recipe apps? A: Not at this time. This may be considered in a future release.

 

Q: Will the screen stay on while I view/read a recipe? A: Yes, as long as the “Keep Recipe View Screen on” is switched on in the Settings.

 

Q: There is an annoying extra “header” in the Recipe View Screen. Is possible to hide this? A: Yes, use the “up” arrow button on the top of the screen to hide this header (use arrow down to show it again).

 

Sync & Sign up

Q Why Sign up? A: If you sign up all your categories and recipes are copied to myrecipescollection.com’s server so that you can read and maintain your recipes and categories from all your devices. This includes phones, tablets and PC / browser. Data are automatically kept in sync across devices. This also means that you have a backup of your recipes. Read this for more information.

 

Q: If I use sync, where are photos taken with the app copied? A: It is only possible to sign up with your Google / Gmail account. As a Gmail account owner you have access to free storage area at Google Drive (read more about Google Drive here https://www.google.com/intl/no/drive/). Photos taken with the AllMyRecipes app are copied to its own directory in this area. Only links to these photos are kept in the myrecipescollection.com’s database. If you log inn to Google Drive you will find all photos taken, and synced from, the app.

 

Q: Do I have to sign up with a Google account? A: Yes, currently only sign in with Google is supported.

 

Q: How do I disconnect from or stop using sync? A: You have two options from the Sign up dialog: 1) Disconnect: This means that all your information remains on the server so that you may connect later to resync. This may be desirable if you have other devices connected and you don’t want this device to sync anymore. 2) The option “Delete me” means that all your information is deleted on the server BUT NOT FROM your device. So, if you don’t want to use sync anymore, but continue to use the app, you can delete information on the server without deleting categories and recipes stored on your device. All user, category and recipe information are deleted on the server. Photos taken with the app that are copied to your Google Drive area are not deleted.

 

Q: How can I access my categories and recipes from my PC? A: Go to https://www.myrecipescollection.com/ and sign in with the same Google account that you signed up with from the app. You now have access to the same information that you have in the app.

 

Q: The app reports that I must restart the app for syncing or connect to server? A: This may happen if you connect and disconnect with different Google accounts. Just try again, or restart and try again. Sometimes You have to wait some minutes for this to be resolved.

 

Q: How do I connect and sync with a second or third device? A: Install the app on the new device and sign in with the same Google account that you initially signed up with. Be aware that you have to decide if you just want to keep data that are on the server or if you want to merge what you have on your new device with data on the server. This last option means keeping both data sets. Note that this may imply that you get duplicates if you have similar categories locally and on the server (if this happens just delete categories and resync).

 

Q: How to avoid syncing on start up? A: If you have signed up sync will, by default, be performed each time you start the app. This can be turned off in the settings screen. It is, however, recommended to keep this on. If you turn it off you must sync manually be selecting Sync from the menu.

 

Q: I use several devices and all of them are synced with the same Google account. What happens if I disconnect from one of these? A: After disconnecting on one device and starting another synced device it will just ask you to confirm app privileges and you are again connected.

 

Q: I use several devices and all of them are synced with the same Google account. What happens if I “Delete me” from one of these? A: After deleting your server account from one device and then starting another synced device it will automatically detect that the account is deleted and disconnect (no local data is deleted).

 

Q: Why do I have to log in with my Google account inside the Recipe View Screen after syncing with a second device and looking at a photo recipe? A: You only have to do this one time on your second device. This is because photos are copied to your Google Drive space and these are only accessible by you.

 

Q: Is there any limits in the number of recipes that can be stored on the server? A: Yes, for now this limit is 300.

 

Problems and technical issues:

Q: Sometimes it take a long time to login? A: Just quit the app. Wait and try again later.

 

Q: My device seems to have disconnected from the sync service without my intervention. What should I do? A: 1) Wait and try again later. Possible reboot your device and retry. 2) If nothing else seems to work you can try to connect again and, just to be sure, use merge server data with local data when asked. If this succeeds do a manual clean up, i.e. delete duplicates.

 

Q: All my categories & recipes seems to have disappeared after adding photo recipes. What should I do? A: You have to quit/stop the app completely and restart. The app is stopped completely from the Android settings | apps menu (or alternatively restart your device).

 

Q: How to report technical issues with the app? A: Please send an email to mail@myrecipescollection.com describing the problem

Web issues:

 

Q: I get this ugly message in my web browser when I try to log in: “Fatal error: Uncaught exception ‘Google_Auth_Exception’ with message ‘The OAuth 2.0 access token has expired, and a refresh token is not available…”. What should I do? A: 1) Restart your web browser. 2) Quit your browser, wait and try again later. 3) If that doesn’t work, try to empty your browser history and try again.